Concealed Handgun Licensing

The Lane County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for issuing Sheriff's Office Badgeconcealed handgun licenses (CHL) to county residents. Citizens wanting a concealed handgun license must complete an application and meet all requirements before a license can be obtained. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.  Fees cannot be paid in advance or online and will be collected with the application.


Effective August 1, 2015, anyone applying for a CHL is required to make an appointment. As a courtesy, the Sheriff’s Office provides walk-in service to new applicants on Wednesdays only, using a take-a-number system.  CHL renewals can either make an appointment or walk in during any of our open hours Monday through Friday using the take-a number system.  Those taking advantage of the walk-in service may encounter wait times of several hours. Depending on the number of citizens waiting, we may stop issuing numbers prior to closing. 

The Sheriff’s Office does not issue renewal notices. You will need to monitor the expiration of your CHL and return to this website for a renewal application and to schedule an appointment a minimum of six months prior to the expiration date.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT

CHL APPLICATION

CHL CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Questions related to CHL? Email or call 541-682-3906 between 10 am and 4 pm Monday through Friday except holidays.

What do I need to do to apply for a CHL?

• Application forms are available online or from our office, located at the Lane County Courthouse, Room 140. Complete the application online and print it out OR print the application and complete it by hand. We do not accept online applications. You must bring the application, in person, to our office. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

• Original or Certified Copy of Birth Certificate (not hospital footprints) or US Passport.

• Bring two pieces of current identification - one must have a photo (e.g. Driver's License). The second piece of ID must be current with an expiration date, but does not have to be a photo ID.

• Proof of handgun competency.

• Completed Reference Sheet.

• Pay the $65 fee. We accept payment in the form of cash, check, credit or debit card. We do not accept American Express. Make checks payable to LCSO.

• Book an appointment

What do I need to do to renew my CHL?

• Complete the entire application and bring it - in person - to the Lane County Sheriff's Office. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

• Bring your current (not expired) CHL and one other piece of current identification.

• Pay the $50 renewal fee. We accept payment in the form of cash, check, credit or debit card. We do not accept American Express. Make checks payable to LCSO.

What are the legal requirements to obtain a CHL?

• Requirements are set by the State of Oregon, and are found under ORS 166.291. Other references to the ORS listed on this page can be found at leg.state.or.us/ors. Scroll through the index and then navigate to the section you wish to review.

• You must be a US citizen, or a legal alien who can document continuous residency in the country for at least six months anddeclared in writing to the INS your intent to acquire citizenship (Form N400).

• Be at least 21 years of age.

• Not have any legal condition which would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.

• Have no outstanding warrants for your arrest.

• Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Services.

• Not be an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance.

• Not be on any form of pre-trial release.

• Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.

• Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor, or found guilty of a misdemeanor, within the four years prior to application, except under ORS 161.295.

• Not be subject to a citation issued under ORS 163.735 or an order issued under ORS 30.866, 107.700 to 107.723, or 163.738 (e.g. Stalking or Restraining Orders).

• Demonstrate competency (see below for definitions and requirements).

• Except as provided in ORS 166.291(1)(L), not be convicted of an offense involving controlled substances or completed a court-supervised drug diversion program. (Note: if you intend to investigate having a charge expunged, please be aware that the eligibility requirements to obtain an expungement vary from state to state.)

What are the competency requirements to obtain a CHL?

• Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course which includes handguns, and which has been approved by the Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife, or similar agency of another state, provided handgun safety was a component of the course.

• Completion of any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course, provided handgun safety was a component of that course.

• Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or law enforcement officers, provided handgun safety was a component of the course.

• Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers or any other law enforcement, provided handgun safety was a component of the course.

• Present evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service (e.g. DD214).

• Licensed or have been licensed to carry a concealed firearm in this state, unless the license has been revoked.

I am a veteran with a DD214; does that satisfy the competency requirement for my application?

• If your DD214 specifically states the words pistol or handgun training, it would satisfy the requirement.

• Words such as 'small arms' or 'marksmanship' alone will not fulfill the statutory wording.

What is the cost to apply for a CHL?

Fees will be collected in person at the time of application.  We do not have the ability to collect fees on-line at this time.

• New License - $65

• Renewal License within Lane County - $50

• Address change or replacement within Lane County - $15

• Transfer within Oregon but new to Lane County - $30

• We accept payment in the form of cash, check, or credit card. We do not accept American Express.

How and when can I schedule an appointment?

• Appointments take approximately 20 minutes to complete and should be booked a minimum of six months in advance.

• You can book an appointment online.

• You can also book an appointment by calling our office at 541-682-3906 between the hours of 10 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.

How long does it take to get my license?

ORS 166.292 allows the Sheriff 45 days to review and issue the permit on a CHL application.  Due to current workload issues, it is safe to assume that it will take 45 days.

What do I do if I move?

• Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) require CHL holders to keep their current physical address on file at all times with the issuer of the CHL.

• If you move within Lane County, complete our change of address application and submit the form with $15 to us in person or via US mail.

• If you move into Lane County from within the State of Oregon, you will need to bring the form in person to our office with $30, your current CHL, your ODL, and be fingerprinted and photographed.


• If you no longer have residency in Lane County (see ORS 166.291 for the definition), you must apply to the County Sheriff of your new residence address to transfer your CHL. The expiration date of your CHL will remain the same.

• If you move out of state, consult the regulating agency where you are residing.

How will I know if my application was denied or my license was revoked? Could I appeal a denial or revocation?

• Your CHL can be revoked for any of the reasons that would cause you to be denied a license when you initially applied. Examples would include: new arrests where you are on a form of pre-trial release, conviction of a misdemeanor or felony crime, or being named as the respondent of a restraining order that is in effect. Please call if you have a concern in this area.

• If your CHL application is denied or your license is revoked, you will be sent a certified letter advising you of that fact and the reason for the denial/revocation.

    o ORS provides an appeal process for denials and revocations through the filing of a petition through the Circuit Court. You have 30 days from the date you receive the revocation letter to appeal the decision. For additional information, refer to ORS 166.293(5).

Does the license allow me to carry any weapon?

This is a Concealed Handgun License. See ORS 166.210(4) for the definition of a handgun.

Are there places I can't carry my handgun concealed?

Yes. There are several locations in which you cannot carry a firearm, even with a carry permit, including:

• Federal Facilities – federal courthouses, social security office, secured areas of airports, airplanes.

• Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms possession.

• National forests marked or posted with signs prohibiting all firearms.

• Indian reservations or property – you may not carry a firearm concealed without the written permission of the tribal judge; this may also apply to certain casinos on tribal lands.

• Courts – in a courtroom, jury room, judge’s chambers, or adjacent areas that the presiding judge determines should be free of firearms to ensure the safety of litigants, court personnel, witnesses, and others.

PLEASE NOTE: If you plan to carry your handgun, it is important to research the requirements at these locations before you go. Learn more at ORS 166.370.

How long is a CHL valid?

A CHL is valid for 4 years from date of issue; however, a CHL can be revoked in the event of an arrest or criminal activity involvement.

Is my CHL from another state of valid in Oregon?

No. You cannot carry a concealed handgun in Oregon unless you have an Oregon CHL. You must obtain an Oregon CHL from your county of residence. No other state’s permit is recognized or acknowledged.