Commissioners Trieger and Loveall chosen as chair, vice chair

Commissioners Trieger and Loveall chosen as chair, vice chair
Posted on 01/09/2024

The Lane County Board of Commissioners appointed a chair and vice chair during the opening minutes of its first regular meeting of 2024.


Commissioner Laurie Trieger (District 3) will serve as chair in 2024 and Commissioner David Loveall (District 2) will serve as vice chair. 


“We have built up great momentum at Lane County on a number of critical initiatives, from modernizing our waste recovery efforts to addressing public health and safety needs,” said Chair Laurie Trieger. “I’m energized by the opportunity to serve as Chair and lead our team toward a stronger, more resilient future.”


“I look forward to doing the important work of the County on behalf of our valued citizens,” said Vice Chair Loveall. “As Vice Chair, my role is to fully support the Chair in her mission to be the unifying force of our five commissioners, and to continue being a clear voice for those whom I’ve been elected to represent.”


Commissioners designate one member as chair and one member as vice chair during the first regular Board meeting of the year. The chair and vice chair work together to preside over meetings and set the agendas for meetings under the rules of the board. 


Commissioner Pat Farr (District 4) was also recognized for his leadership as chair in 2023 and presented with a ceremonial gavel as a gesture of thanks from his fellow commissioners. 


More information about Board of County Commissioners meetings, including agendas and instructions for providing public comment, can be found at

2024 Wildfire Season Evacuation Information -

Click here for information about active evacuations.